ACEA Training and Education Champion of the Year

Bob Semmens award nominees for 2021

The finalists for the ACEA Corrections Educator of the Year are:

Ruth (Rufus) James.  Rufus is an education officer working at the Wolston Correctional Centre in Queensland. 

Emily Innes.  Emily is the Coordinator Education working for Federation TAFE at the Hopkins Correctional Centre in Victoria.

Mathew Simmons.  Mathew is the  Art Project Officer at Casuarina Prison in Western Australia.

Sir Graham Lowe.  Sir Graham (known as Lowie) delivers The Kick for the Seagulls program, embedding literacy and numeracy.

The Bob Semmens award winner will be announced at the 2021 ACEA international conference.

The Bob Semmens award is named after the inaugural president and founder of International Forum for Education in Penal Settings (Australasia), the forerunner of the ACEA.  Bob is a champion of  quality training in prison and community corrections settings and this award celebrates those demonstrating excellence in corrections education programs and services.